The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Testing Real World Dynamic Range

Dogs857

Before I get started this is not designed to start a war. Nor is it designed to be a "mine is better than yours" discussion. Also I am not a professional tester, I do this for my own benefit and would encourage everyone to test their own sensors for their intended use rather than listen to me. I just thought this could be a good demonstration of the difference between theoretical and real world applications.

All photos were processed in Capture One. An LCC was applied and then everything was cropped and exported.

On forums around the world DXO is quoted often as the undisputed fact with regards to dynamic range. While this might be technically correct, I find it is rarely replicated in actual photography. My D3x had 13.7 stops according to DXO, however I don't recall ever taking a photo that captured that much information. So I was wondering how much of the reported 12.9 stops of my new P45+ I can actually use.
Here is my completely unscientific testing method, it is open to interpretation, errors, and is personally subjective.

You know, like photography :)

Step 1; Tape a test subject to a wall in an area with relatively even light. In this case my balcony (it's raining again here).

BTW I focused this using my Cambo loupe and GG. I am new at this and quite happy how it turned out. Taken with the Rodie 70mm.
Step 2; take a reading of the middle grey swatch (bottom left) and start there. Mine came out at 1/4s at ISO50 and f/8.