The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Rodenstock 40 HR vs Schneider 43-XL

Egor

Any thoughts on helping me with this choice?
Studio product use mostly, with occasional arch interior/exterior.
I will be using a view camera Cambo Ultima 23D or Arca Swiss M
Digital back used primarily will be IQ250 CMOS and occasionally Leaf Credo-80

I am currently leaning toward the Rodenstock 40 but only because I am told it should work better with the micro lenses on the IQ250. I have no experience with those issues so don't know.

Also, there seems to be a lot of variation in the Rodenstock line between blue bands, magenta bands...etc. Whats that about?

I think the SK 43-XL has larger ic, less distortion (I have read), and is of course much cheaper (about $1500 less!)

Confused a bit here, don't want to spend $4k on a lens and make the wrong choice. I know, I know...$10k here, $40K there...pretty soon you're talking "real money"....;)

I have pretty much already decided on the SK 120 ASPH and APO Digitar 90 for the "normal" lengths, but any thoughts on those also helpful. My main decision now is this wide lens solution, thats the pricey guy. (of course I could always spring for the Rodenstock 90 and make them all seem cheap in comparison)
Thanks in advance for any info!

jagsiva

The 40HR is certainly better on the CMOS back. It also has less color cast on the 80MP back. IC is smaller on the 40HR, but Rodie is a little more conservative on spec. It is also wider so from I what I recall on the 43XL, the total FoV is a wash.

Rodie is also much bigger and more expensive, but it was my choice for an IQ180 over the 43XL.