The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Filter system reccomendation

aztwang

As I have said in earlier posts, I am VERY new to MFD. I make a living as a portrait photographer and shoot allot of sports and have and still do string for a newspaper as requested.
I thoroughly enjoy all the beautiful landscape images seen here and something inside me is wanting to start shooting some landscape. I have some amazing locations here in AZ.
I have never shot using filters as I have never had the need.
Would you please recommend a filter system that is of high quality, little or no color shift and overall the best to work with.

Thank you

Udo

Type and size of filters/filter systems depends very much on desired effects and lenses you will be using. You can achieve a lot of effects with single or even stacked screw-in filters but if you wish to affect parts of the frame only (e.g. foreground/horizon) like with graduated neutral density filters I'd recommend to use rotatable filter systems. The type and brand depends on the lenses which should carry those filters. In case with bulging front elements you need a special filter holder. I have used Fotodiox and LEE filter systems. With those systems you can combine rectangular filter glass plates and circular filters as well.