The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Differences between AFD, AFD II, AFD III?

johnnykurtz

Hello,

This is my first post here on GetDPI.com.

I am a photographer who is currently using a Hasselblad 503CWD kit with CFV back and for reasons related to my eyes I feel I need an AF MFD system.

I am a still life product photographer and shoot 95% of my time in studio with strobes.

I am looking at the Mamiya AFD with ZD back, perhaps a Phase One. I am doing more and more editorial location work, so the portability of the AFD will be a plus as well.

What I need to know, what are there major differences between AFD versions? I have read through all the PDF files from Mamiya for all three cameras and do not find that much that separates them, but would really like some real world opinions.

Also, has anybody worked with both the Hasselblad CFV and Mamiya ZD backs, and if so, what can I expect going from the CFV to ZD? I love the files from the CFV, much better than what I was getting from my 1DS Mark III.

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Welcome to the forum!

Here are the basics in a nutshlell...

Major differences:

AF speed faster in the AFD2 and 3; MLU is a mechanical lever on the AFD1, electronic button on the AFD2 and 3; metering is least accurate but okay on the AFD1, very good on the AFD2 and excellent on the AFD3.

Low significance differences:

Each model has a slightly different arrangement for implementation of MLU and self timer; each has a different selection of custom functions; each has a different accessory button layout.