The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Please help a total MF noob choose the right gear

RiGo

Hello everyone,

I'm an architectural photographer and I've decided to make the jump to medium format. I have never shot using anything other than DSRLs and I have no idea about anything MF so it will be a steep learning curve.

I'm hoping to get some impartial guidance as I've asked a local dealer for some information and although very helpful he has a vested interest, so I would like to get other opinions on the setup that will best suit me.

I'm currently shooting with a 5D MkIII and tilt shift lenses (17mm, 24mm and 45mm). I would like to keep these focal lengths as I've become used to them. As I'm shooting architecture, shifting is very important and I manage to do some pretty big shifts (up to 12mm) with all my lenses. I would like to retain this ability with my new system.

Given this information, the dealer has recommended the following setup:

IQ180 back (they have a used one for a good price)
Cambo Wide RS
Cambo Wide-DS Rodenstock 23mm f5.6 HR Digaron-S Lenspanel
Cambo Wide-RS Rodenstock 40mm f4.0 HR Digaron-W Lenspanel
Cambo Wide-DS Rodenstock 70mm f5.6 HR Digaron-W Lenspanel
Accessories

So, I have a some questions. It would be great if you could answer them:

1. How does this setup sound given how I shoot as explained above? Especially regarding image circle size and the ability to obtain equivalent shifting to my current setup.
2. Why would he have chosen these particular lenses - does Schneider make equivalent lenses?