The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sensor size = headache!

MarkBeaumont

I know I'm still very new to digital MF (5 days of nearly constant reading) but just as I thought I was getting somewhere......

So can someone explain, is a larger sensor always going to be better, than a smaller one, even if they are the same number of pixels?

For instance I'm looking at a Hassy H5d 50c with a sensor size of 32.9 x 43.8 only to see that the older H4d & H3d some with lower pixel backs (22mp, 39mp) all have a larger sensor at 49.1 x 36.8.

So the latest H5d has a sensor only 1.7 times bigger than my FF Nikon.

Presumably all the reading I've done about MF sensor being so much better than 35mm as its 2.5 times bigger is referring to the very high MP backs only?

jerome_m

It is quite simple actually.

There are 3 sensor sizes:

x1: this are the 60, 80 and 100 mpix backs. Same size as 645 film.
x1.1: this are the 22, 39 and 50 mpix CCD backs. A bit smaller than film, the crop is not essential in practice. 3 of the Hasselblad lenses are designed for this format max.
x1.3: this are the 31 and 40 mpix CCD backs and the 50 mpix CMOS back. The crop is noticeable and means that wide-angles are not quite as wide. Further: all these sensors are more sensitive to light, because they use micro-lenses.

Then, irrespective of the size, there is the difference between CCD and CMOS. CMOS sensors are about 1 stop more sensitive than the 31 and 40 mpix CCDs, which are themselves 1 stop more than the rest.