Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Just a question:

    I am trying to puzzle together all information about using a Dalsa based back on RZ67ProIID.
    Afaik, I need an adapter plate (HX701) but I am at complete loss with cables:

    Do I need a cable to trigger back or does adapter plate does that for you by default?
    To use mirror lock up function, do I need a cable to sync with leaf shutter in lens?
    To use strobes, do I simply mount trigger on the hot shoe? That should sync with leaf shutter?
    Or do I need to design own cable that will daisy chain leaf->trigger->back?

    Any help is sincerely appreciated.

    Best Regards

  2. #2
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    543

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    With the ProIID you won't need any cables with the HX701.
    (I have one too)
    Remember: adventure before dementia!
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    With the ProIID you won't need any cables with the HX701.
    (I have one too)
    Life suddenly became so easy and colourful..

    Cheers Graham, thanks very much for the reply!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    The HX701 works only on the D model and it doesn't need any sync cable.


    To use mirror lock up, it's the same as with a film back. You screw a cable release into the lens. When you press the camera shutter release, the mirror goes up, but the lens shutter doesn't fire. Then you press the cable release on the lens to take the shot.

    To use strobes, it's the same as with a film back. Yes, you can mount a trigger on the hot shoe, if it will fit. My Flex TT5 doesn't fit because it hits the focus knob. But you can use a little extension.


    --Steve.
    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by steve_cor View Post
    The HX701 works only on the D model and it doesn't need any sync cable.


    To use mirror lock up, it's the same as with a film back. You screw a cable release into the lens. When you press the camera shutter release, the mirror goes up, but the lens shutter doesn't fire. Then you press the cable release on the lens to take the shot.

    To use strobes, it's the same as with a film back. Yes, you can mount a trigger on the hot shoe, if it will fit. My Flex TT5 doesn't fit because it hits the focus knob. But you can use a little extension.


    --Steve.
    Steve

    Thank you!
    I use Cactus V5 transceivers atm, regular hot-shoe mount works just a treat when I am shooting film with RZ.
    I had an issue with SunPack that required a cable - V5's port had mirrored connections and refused to fire, so I was a bit edgy with RZ/back combo.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    126
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by Krosavcheg View Post
    Steve

    Thank you!
    I use Cactus V5 transceivers atm, regular hot-shoe mount works just a treat when I am shooting film with RZ.
    I had an issue with SunPack that required a cable - V5's port had mirrored connections and refused to fire, so I was a bit edgy with RZ/back combo.
    Or you can do what I did for myself and another friend of mine as well (after he saw mine)......

    I wired a grip so I could put the trigger/transmitter on top of the grip (normally a cold shoe only).
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Ken
    http://www.transposure.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by Transposure View Post
    Or you can do what I did for myself and another friend of mine as well (after he saw mine)......

    I wired a grip so I could put the trigger/transmitter on top of the grip (normally a cold shoe only).
    WHOA! Careful with that axe, Eugene...
    How's general convenience of this in every day use?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Back doesn't work with camera for some reason though.
    Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

    Ed. Looks like RZ requires one shot cable after all.
    Last edited by Krosavcheg; 2nd May 2016 at 04:58.

  9. #9
    Senior Member segedi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    What I can't figure out is how to use the AE finder with the back.
    It won't fire unless I manually select a shutter speed.

    If you have a Phase One back, it should work without the cable. I just picked up a RZ67 Pro IID + HX701 + Phase One IQ140.
    The only way to get it to fire is by putting the camera into Multi-exposure mode using the lever set to M (same lever set to R allows you to rotate the back). You also have to wind the camera on after each exposure either manually or with a motor winder.

    Also, make sure your back has the latest firmware as it will allow you to pick RZ67 Pro IID as a shooting mode.

    There's not a lot of info coming from Mamiya user manuals though - nothing regarding digital that I found in the RZ manual and vague info in the IQ140 manual.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Almost exactly as my setup except I got IQ160.
    Did try in Multi mode - same difference.
    Tried live view and image does appear on screen momentarily arter releasing shutter, though nothing is recorded on the card.
    Back has got RZ67ProIID set.

  11. #11
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    543

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    So, shuttter release is on the white dot (not manual release red/orange position)?
    Mode is normal (vs multi shot)?
    Shutter wound on but nothing triggers the back when you press the shutter? MFDB in RZproIID mode?

    Excuse the obvious question but how is the body battery in the RZ?

    i just tried mine but the camera has been idle for a long time and my battery is weak. I'll try a fresh battery. With iq150 & my proiid/hx701 the camera will trigger the back but doesn't terminate the shot. It worked fine with my iq260 before so I suspect the battery may be my issue.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    So, shuttter release is on the white dot (not manual release red/orange position)?
    Mode is normal (vs multi shot)?
    Shutter wound on but nothing triggers the back when you press the shutter? MFDB in RZproIID mode?

    Excuse the obvious question but how is the body battery in the RZ?

    i just tried mine but the camera has been idle for a long time and my battery is weak. I'll try a fresh battery. With iq150 & my proiid/hx701 the camera will trigger the back but doesn't terminate the shot. It worked fine with my iq260 before so I suspect the battery may be my issue.
    Graham

    I just shot a roll of film after re-mounting film back so I assume it's in working order, though there is a chance it might be weak.

    Release is on orange dot - it doesn't fire when white or red at all.
    Both multi/single shot modes don't trigger the back.
    Operation mode is set to RZ67ProIID.
    Camera is indeed ProIID and adapter plate is HX701.

    I will try to change the battery actually - it's been about 3 years since last change.
    4xLC should be fine with back?

  13. #13
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    543

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    I know that mine will only shoot and trigger the IQ back if the release button is on the white dot/tab and not orange. Orange is manual release and will always release the shutter/mirror etc but isn't electrically linked to the back.
    Last edited by GrahamWelland; 3rd May 2016 at 00:02.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Working!!
    Apparently it was battery - Thanks to Graham for pointing it out!
    Rz was set to emergency firing mode so I couldn't really see the difference...
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    I know that mine will only shoot and trigger the IQ back if the release button is on the white dot/tab and not orange. Orange is manual release and will always release the shutter/mirror etc but isn't electrically linked to the back.


    You guys are good. Was about to tell you everything Graham was telling you.

  16. #16
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    543

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Happy to help a fellow mfdb guy.

    We're a close comitted group who love the medium, regardless of external pressures who say cheap & small is as good or better. We know what we like shooting and that's not related to convenience or even pure quality (although I would still say that MF has a definite differentiation).
    Remember: adventure before dementia!
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Glad to be a part of it...and to finally mount MFD after two months of purchase

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    218
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    I fabricated a remote battery holder for my RZ67 from the cold weather battery unit and positioned it on the side of the camera next to the battery compartment. After use, it is easy to disable the battery. In my experience there is a current drain within the camera electronics that shortens battery storage life.

  19. #19
    Senior Member segedi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    I'm still having some issues....

    Camera must be set to multi-shot mode as it won't fire otherwise.

    With the WLF finder, shooting works as expected.

    With the AE Finder, I can get one shot and then the camera can't fire again for about 30 seconds. This is the same amount of time required to put the finder to sleep; it stores the exposure setting for 30 secs and then clears itself. It doesn't matter if it registers a new exposure or not, it still takes 30 seconds to fire. If I select a shutter speed (instead of using AEF setting), it works fine.

    Finder is set to A
    Body is set to AEF, multi-shot, white-dot
    Back is set to RZ67ProIID, Shutter latency-normal
    Battery is new
    Lenses - 50mm ULD and 110mm (makes no difference)

    Any ideas?

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    If you have the viewfinder with the dial on the side, that is the wrong one. You need the one with two dials on the top. See page 18 here:

    http://www.cameramanuals.org/mamiya_...ccessories.pdf


    When you set the dial on the viewfinder to "A", that is aperture priority. So you set the aperture on the lens, and the finder sets the shutter speed according to the light coming through the lens, and the ISO on the back.


    --Steve.

  21. #21
    Senior Member segedi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Steve,
    Yep, I have the second version (2 dials on top). It works as intended in every way, except being ready to fire after a shot is taken. I'll have to test with film to see if there's an issue not related to the digital back.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Might be unrelated, but afaik, you need to set the dial to AEF if using prism viewfinder....and in my case setting dial to B will not trigger back when attempting bulb exposure.

    There are no manuals on the matter, so one has to go by assumptions...and the assumption is that RZ will only work in regular 1/400 - 8s shutter range.

    Ed. Or as per Doug's explanation in this thread:
    RZ67 & Long Exposure with DB
    Last edited by Krosavcheg; 9th May 2016 at 21:03.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Now, the only trouble is that there is no chance to find a cable anywhere...
    Sigh...all I needed was about 20s exposure and RZ can't even do that...quality Japanese manufacturing my foot!

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseONE (Dalsa) on RZ67ProIID

    Apologies for beating the dead horse..

    After few months search I finally sourced the wake-up cable and lens/back connector cable. But for the love of all holy I can't find how to trigger the wake-up cable - it has connectors in both ends so I assume one needs to be shorted somehow? How would one operate it otherwise?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •