The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Alternative lens for Rodenstock 40mm Digaron-W (Cambo-mount)

charlestonphoto

Hello Everybody,

I have been using the Rodenstock 40mm Digaron-W for the last 6 years almost daily in about 80% of my architectural work. Mounted on a Cambo Widebody RS. I love the lens. The other 20% I use a Schneider 75mm/5.6 Super Angulon on either one of my two Linhofs. All images are captured with a PhaseOne P40 back. I use sliding back adapters on my Linhofs and stitch all images.
Here's the question: As much as I love the Rodenstock Digaron, I personally find the "look" from the Linhof/Schneider set-up slightly more appealing. I love how the proportions in interior shots almost always look significantly more natural, even on wide shots (that's probably due to the slightly longer focal length). I also feel that images with the Linhof/Schneider set-up seem to render a tad more three-dimensional. Even some of my clients agree on that.
My question is, is there an alternative to the Rodenstock 40mm Digaron in a Cambo-mount that would get closer to the Linhof/Schneider "look"? Rodenstock 55mm Apo-Grandagon? How would the Rodenstock 50mm Digaron compare?

I am aware that this might be a long shot, but I appreciate your input.

Jamgolf

Hello Everybody,