The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Where is the X1D ????

Since we don't really have anything better to do with our time I might as well give my 2 pence on the matter. Bear in mind I'm basically just making stuff up here which I think seems reasonable, but I have no real experience with manufacturing and retail. I do have plenty of experience with delivering software, but mostly on time, unlike Hasselblad.

I don't think it's unreasonable that you want to reach a certain stock level before you start shipping out your product, otherwise you will have to prioritize who to deliver to first and that might damage your relationship with your distributors.

Software can be really tricky, and I bet they are still working around the clock to improve the firmware and that's what has delayed them the most.

Before they start shipping I bet they want to give their ambassadors and reviewers time to pen some glowing reviews of the X1D.

:)

D&A

Isn't that supposed to be "2 cents", not "two pence"?..LOL.

As I previously mentioned, my personal belief is the delay is either a key component of the camera is in short supply in order to ramp up production and/or tweaks to the firmware is ongoing, especially when reveiving feedback from demo users and reviewers of Beta units. A telltale sign that not all is ready is it appears different demo units all have different firmware versions.