The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Going long with XF

Can anyone share their experiences with the Phase One x2 teleconverter? I have a XF/IQ180 combo and a 150mm f3.5 blue ring. What is the effective f stop after conversion? How much of a loss in quality? Is it hard to keep it stable, i.e. is extra support necessary on lens?

As a cheaper option I was thinking about the Mamiya 300mm APO f4.5. If the Mamiya is strongly supported does it have sharp images with vibration delay? Which of the options would have better image quality?

Thanks,

Don Libby

Weldon, I have been using a 240LS and 2x for a couple years now beginning with the DF and 180 combo and now with the XF and IQ1-100 combo.

Attaching the 2x to the 240 makes it a 480 which in my experience has been just as sharp as without it attached; that's the good news. Attaching the 2x makes the lens package very heavy as well as very slow with minimum at f/9 plus you loose auto focus.

The extra weight can be worked out by using RRS long lens bracket which helps distribute the weight on tripod. Speaking of which you can forget using this handheld.

I've used this combo mainly shooting wildlife and have had no issue with f/9 while I was using the 180; now that I have the 1-100 I can use a better combination of ISO to change the f/stop as well as shutter speeds. Using the 180 I found I had to experiment on site to find the sweet spot for a combination of ISO and shutter speeds while keeping it at f/9 to f/11.

Manual focus - I've found the manual focus much easier with the XF.