The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Anyone used "Mark II Artist's Viewfinder" with a tech camera??

Transposure

As a new tech cam user, I have been looking into the various ways to frame and focus. My intent is solely interior architecture and I am using a Cambo Wide RS + Credo 60 back.

I came across this App the other day and thought it might be well suited to use with a tech cam. You can input the lens and the digital back and it provides the field of view.

config-screens-41.jpgmainscreen.jpg

Mark II Artist's Viewfinder

Since I am new to the tech cam world, I wanted to know if anyone knows this app and if they have used it with a tech cam. Is it worthwhile? Any other suggestions to speed up framing and accuracy?

On a related note, I thought I would share this with others...
I have an iPhone 6 and I bought and use a cool little gadget in my car. It is a rubber-faced magnetic mount. Here is a pic...

Car Mount.jpg

So, I thought, why not leverage the system for the tech cam? Well, I found this product...

Tech Cam Mount.jpg

So, I am thinking if this "Artist Viewfinder Mark II" App works, I can stick the phone there and voila!

Thoughts? Comments?

Jamgolf

I have the Artist's Viewfinder app on my phone and use it to check compositions and decide on a lens.
However, I do not use it with the phone attached to the tech-cam.
For composing I just rely on the digital back's screen.

I also think the Artemis Director's Viewfinder is a better tool, because it allows entry of any focal length of choice for easy and accurate comparison of fields of view between different focal lengths.

Pelorus