The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A few questions about MF digital

JTL

Hi, this is my first post.

I'm starting to get curious about medium format digital, but as yet I have not used it (I did shoot a few rolls of MF film a while back and I was definitely impressed with the look). I'm an amateur and basically don't make money from photography, so the absolute top of the line stuff is out of the question. I'm more interested in the shooting process and whether or not there is a noticeable improvement in image quality from smaller formats. I've shot with everything from an iPhone to full frame 35, but currently I'm using an APS-C camera and a one-inch sensor camera.

As I'm still new to MF digital, I have a few questions, and this seems like a good place to ask them. So with your indulgence, I will.

1) How much of a role does the body play, assuming we are talking about a modular system? For instance, a Hasselblad H1, H2 and H3 - does it make a big difference? I was under the impression that the back and the lens are the two most important elements.

2) Assuming the backs work with the bodies (and I know that some do and some don't), does any one company make better backs than any other?

3) In terms of image quality, do the older backs (with big pixel pitches, i.e the 20-30 mp ones) still match up to, for instance, the best of the current full frame 35mm cameras (D810, etc)? I'm fairly well aware that apart from the newest of the new, MF digital is not renowned for high ISO quality, but in terms of acuity, resolution, colour accuracy, etc, how do they match up?