The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Railway photography, anyone?

Bill Caulfeild-Browne

I have a dirty little secret to share. Although I bill myself as a nature photographer, I also love to shoot railways, an obsession I've had since growing up in the UK in the age of steam.

So during my trip to Lake Superior last week I couldn't help myself. Students of history may know that the history of Canada is inextricably intertwined with that of the CPR, and you cannot get far from the line as you travel the Trans-Canada Highway, particularly around the big lake.

So here are a couple - the first with P45+, then the same train a few minutes later with the a900.

Anyone else into my obsession?

View attachment 18564

And the Sony shot.
View attachment 18565

Last edited:

carstenw

I enjoy photographing old trains, but I would not call it an obsession in my case. I just love mechanical detail, and old trains have enough of those!

jotloob

Subscriber Member
I enjoy photographing old trains, but I would not call it an obsession in my case. I just love mechanical detail, and old trains have enough of those!
Yes Carsten
I do love to shoot trains as well and have done so in the past . But I do not like to shoot modern highspeed trains .
Unfortunately , there are almost no more occasions to see steam trains in Germany , or lets say Europe .
If you know places , just let me know . I would appreciate that very much .

Jürgen

carstenw

Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin :) Once a year they also drive back and forth on a local track a bit.

fotografz