The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Leica S2 Pricing

arashm

SO...
If your interested in the S2 I'm wondering what's the most your willing to pay for it.
The recent event at Fotocare in NYC had me thinking, one of my friends who attended the event said basically the most asked question was "how much?"
I'm a working commercial photographer, rent DB's a lot, but my work horse is a Canon 1Ds3.
So here we go, the most I'm willing to pay is $15,000.00 USD ($12k would be a sale) and yes it's probably way too low, but I'm being honest; anything more and as nice as it maybe, My wallet is not interested.
So what's your line in the sand?
remember this is all personal opinion, so nobody is wrong.
(PS this is one of the friendliest forums, so I'm looking forward to a good conversation.)
Thank you for your thoughts in advance.
am

arashm

Hi Jono how are you?
yes your right, so this is assuming that it's as fab as Leica makes it sound.
I for one think it will produce images on par with current new MF DB.
Think of this more as a "feeler" for what people would want to spend on the new system.
so what's your price? if it was all to your liking??? ;)
am

woodyspedden

Regardless of whether we are willing to pay it, Stefan Daniel, product manager for Leica cameras, has leaked that the likely price will be around 20,000 Euros. If you look at past history the price in Euros (which I believe includes VAT) for the European market has led to equivalent pricing in dollars for the U S Market. In other words expect the body to weigh in at about $20,000. Just my humble opinion based on reading the tea leaves.........no data here

Woody