The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Zeiss ZF Lenses: Can we start the definitive thread?

Godfrey

Only small contribution I can make to this thread is that of all my Nikkor manual focus lenses over the thirty years I was shooting with Nikon gear, the Nikkor 105/2.5 AI-S consistently wow'ed me far more than other lenses in this focal length class from Leica (M system), Zeiss (Contax system), Minolta or Pentax that I used alongside it. And the Nikkor 20mm f/3.5 AI and AI-S series lenses remain amongst the nicest 20mm lenses I've used ... still using one of those.

I have little to no experience with the modern Nikon AF lenses or with the ZFs.

woodyspedden

I now shoot almost exclusively with the ZF lenses on my D3X body.

I have virtually no problems focusing and at 72 years old my eyes are certainly not what they used to be.

My favorites are the 28mm, 50 Makro, and 100 Makro. I find the image quality to be extraordinary. I also have the 18mm and the 35mm. I may sell the 18mm and buy instead the now released 21 Distagon.

Toting a bagful of these lenses is no more problematic (size, weight etc) than toting the 14-24, 28-70, and 70-200! Those zooms are also extremely good but not quite up to the ZF lenses IMHO

Hope this helps

Woody

tjv