The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

D7000 in 'bits' . . . ?

C

CJS

I'm in the process of, or considering upgrading my D5000 body. Coming from the dim and distant days of 35mm. I have been dragged kicking a screaming in to the world of digital photography. Then I had to learn how to use a camera . . . yeah, point an SLR click and hope it did the job . . . thang god for a good process lab. I was a very amateur jerno., for a while! All past now, nearly retired, I take pictures for my own sake.

I have looked at a D90, almost a sideways move from the D5000? But the D7000, looks great to me? I have picked up on the metering issue . . . all my Nikons have required some 'minus compensation', from -1.0 to -0.3 depending on the situation at hand.

Offering head room in my 'retirement' to really get to grips :toocool: . . . However, I sometimes strugle with techie stuff. How will the 12bit-14bit thing:bugeyes: affect me? . . . New computer? re vamp computer? new pp program? currently use PhotoShop Elements v.7 and v.8? or maybe, stay 'simple' on the D90?

Sorry, if I'm sounding thick . . . but new tech makes me panic, my dyslexic brain struggles sometimes, other times, I breeze through, but I have to be honest, give me a spanner and a hammer and I'm happy:)

CJS

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
Regarding 12bits vs 14bits, it's really a choice over how much headroom you want in the images for RAW processing. If you are shooting just jpg then it won't matter at all.