The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Email from B&H Regarding the D800E

Mr.Gale

I have a pre-order with B&H for a D800E and yesterday I received this email (see below) asking if am sure I want the D800E. What concerns me is the sentence, "The D800E is best used in applications in which the photographer has absolute control over lighting and color balance". I am a landscape photographer and make large prints is the reason for ordering the 800E, I want all the detail I can get but I certainly don't have control over lighting. I thought the only concern was the higher possibility of moiré with the 800E. Should I worry? Did I order the right camera?
Thanks,
Mr.Gale

Thank you for your pre-order of the following item:
Nikon D800E SLR Digital Camera (Body Only)
(B&H # NID800E)
You are receiving this message so we may address a concern of ours. Some customers might be unclear about the differences between the Nikon D800, and the Nikon D800E, and which camera is the best choice for them.
The Nikon D800 and D800E are similar cameras, based on appearance and most specs. However, there is one underlying difference that should be an important factor in deciding which camera is the right one for you.