The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Will Nikon launch a 52MP D4X?

and thats why you guys read and post in a thread called "52MP D4X"? :deadhorse:
Well, touché, obviously. :p

But I'm not advocating ignoring the nuts and bolts. Just taking the emphasis off the hamster wheel of chasing that last couple of percentage points of ... whatever it might be. That becomes an avocation in itself. The same energy (and funds) can be directed toward doing the work.

I'm an artist, so funds are predictably limited more than if I were a top-tier commercial photographer or law firm partner with a hobby. So the questions are about doing an honest cost/benefit analysis. It's not "can I see the difference between this print and that print?"—of course I can. Anyone here can. I'm asking, "is the difference between this print and that print worth the money, time, and energy that could be spent on other aspects of this endeavor?" Framing it this way has led me make different choices than I did ten years ago.

I'm bumming around this forum specifically because questions like this. I'm trying to improve my work by downsizing. I'm seeing the first dslr that looks capable doing what I'll ask of it, and am excited about the way it's going to effect my workflow and productivity. And like a lot of people, I'm doing a lot of speculating about it before it finds its way into my mailbox.

Paratom

Well, touché, obviously. :p