The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

D800E with 24mm PC-E

I know it is shift only, but has anyone used the Super Angulon 28 (which comes in Nikon mount)? And compared it to the Nikon 24PC-E?
I've used both, but not compared in any rigorous way. My impression is that th Schneider is better with a little bit of shift (5mm or less) and the Nikon is better with a lot of shift. Although Neither is great with a lot of shift.

T

tfmphotographics

Ive been using the Nikon PC-E 24mm with a D200 for a couple of years
and it has performed great...even at high rise and fall...
To be honest i have got some good results with the D800 as with this shot here
Overall i have not been blown away by this on the D800 yet but have not got off to the best start with the camera due to back focusing probs and not great image sharpness...
I have had one D800 returned and callibrated from Nikon and am currently testing the second one...

Tektrader

I sold the 24 PC-e I had. It was SOFT and the edges where fairly ordinary. I pondered what to do for a while.

Then bought a used 28/3.5 PC lens. It hasnt arrived yet. has anyone got an idea what I am in for? I usually only use it for architectural and some stitched landscapes.

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
I used the 28 and 35 Nikkor PC lenses several years back. On the 35's it really didn't matter much which version, they were all decent, not exceptional. On the 28's, the latest model was clearly superior to the earlier one -- again, I would say they were competent, not exceptional. Note they do not tilt, only shift. IIRC, mine worked best at f8/f11.

Jack

Sr. Administrator