The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

? Nikon AF-d 24 f2.8 35 f2 50 1.8 on D800???

DDudenbostel

I'm considering a D800 with the main consideration a smaller size and weight kit. I'm a commercial and documentary photographer and have been dragging a large roll around case with canon equipment and a equally heavy case of Hasselblad digital gear plus lighting and misc goodies. When shooting my Canon equipment I use 1 series bodies and mainly shoot primes.

The issue with my Canon gear is weight and size of L glass. These are not small and light compared to Nikons slower glass. I've used Nikon glass for years on film and then on the D1 and D1x back in their day and was happy with the results. Now with the higher res sensor of the D800 the demands on glass are much greater.

Anyone have experience with the 24 f2.8, 35 f2 and 50 f1.8 AF-D lenses? Also looking at the 85's how does the older AF-D stack up to the new G lens.

If I go Nikon again I want to go slower smaller lighter glass. If I have to go the new f1.4 G lenses there's really no point in switching systems.

Thanks in advance!

pgmj

I tried the 35/2 and compared it to the Zeiss Distagon T* ZF 35/2 some time ago using a D200. Don't think the Nikkor would hold up well on a D800 since it didn't perform very well on the D200, especially compared to the Zeiss. The 50/1.8 AF-D has rather ugly bokeh, imho, otherwise a decent lens. The newer 1.4G is very good and not all that large. The 85 AF-D has really bad flare resistance, but it is sharp and fairly aberration free from f/2.2.