The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Question about manual 50mm lenses

ramosa

Hey, if the D600 comes out later this year in a form similar to the rumors, I am planning to give it a try. (I have been using an M8 for five years and would keep it.) For a D600, I would want to start with a manual focus 50mm lens that is relatively light in weight. I like the idea of having a light FF DSLR and a light 50mm lens for it. I have interest in the following three lenses (with weights in parentheses), which appear to be good, relatively light, and pretty affordable:

1) Nikon 50mm f/1.2 AIS (360g)
2) Zeiss Planar T 50mm f/1.4 ZF (330g)
3) Voigtlander Ultron 40mm f/2 SL II (200g)

I am hoping to get input from folks with experience with any of these lenses.

Thanks ...

ramosa

Thanks for your input. Using Leica R lenses would be an appealing idea for me, but my understanding is that, even with a Leitax adaptor, you would then need to do stop down metering. I'd prefer to keep things simple (though I know how great Leica glass is).

Udo

ramosa,

If real light weight is your first priority, then I'd suggest the following lenses:

low weight

1) Nikkor 45mm f2.8P (pancake), 120g, the smallest you can get, all metal, good build quality, good corner to corner sharpness from f4-5.6 on, smooth focusing, nice rendering, good contrast

2) Nikkor AF-S 50mm f1.8G, 185g, standard size, plastic, AF, good overall performance, even from f1.8 on, typical Nikon rendering

3) Ultron 40mm f2, 200g (pancake), 200g, all metal, good build quality, smooth focusing, neutral to cool rendering, lots of barrel distortion at close distances