The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Switch time.. maybe

Nathan W. Lediard

I am a pro and shoot Canon for quick stuff, Hasselblad in the studio, and I shoot Fuji sometimes too.. But I have been talking to Nikon about gear that can do all my jobs and they have kindly lent me a couple of big cases full of gear.... A D4s and a D810, 24-70, 70-200, 35 1.4, 851.4 and the 400 f2.8 and some speedlights.

I have to say I am impressed so far... had a week of getting to know the menus etc and tomorrow I am covering the IPC (paralympics committee) World Cup Finals (nordic skiing and bialthlon events) The AF performance on both these bodies is extremely good. The D4s is not at all left wanting by my Canon 1Dx. The D810 may just be the perfect allround camera. I have tested it in the studio, on the ski slopes and here are a couple of shots with the D810 and the 400 f2.8 VR II Shot straight into the setting sun...

Swissblad

Nathan, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

Back in SLR film days, we Nikon devotees longed for a 150-600mm zoom like Canon had - in DSLR times Canonites lusted after the Nikon 200-400mm and 14-24mm....... ;)

Either way it would be nice to welcome you in the Nikon camp....... and I'm sure you'll find some friendly folk here - just don't neglect your Fuji!

Nathan W. Lediard

Nathan, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

Back in SLR film days, we Nikon devotees longed for a 150-600mm zoom like Canon had - in DSLR times Canonites lusted after the Nikon 200-400mm and 14-24mm....... ;)