The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What are you first looking for when you buy a new camera?

S

Sanna

Hello
I'm a newbe(e) in this forum and I need a new camera.
I'm a hobby photographer and I like pics of my family, my dog (in movement), landscapes: just things that catch my eye.
Now my problem: I'm the kind of person who doesn't like to carry heavy weights around. So the camera should be a "light-model": not too much fat and sugar;) On the other hand I like technical options...:confused:
Are there any recommendings in this forum?
Ah, yes, the bucks...around 1000 to 1500 Sfr.
Sorry for my english...I'm Swiss...:D
Greatings
Susann

Terry

First order of business....Welcome to the forum!

There are a lot of people here that have a lot of experience buying different gear :D so I'm sure you will get some good ideas.

You are asking these questions at an interesting time when there are a lot of announcements of new gear for the upcoming big Photokina show in Germany.

Personally, I like to try out a lot of different gear so I can't say exactly what I am looking for but generally I like features but also like to keep it very simple so I want stuff that is easy to figure out and use in the field. I don't like to fiddle around with buttons. I want the operation to be intuitive. I also want the best image quality available but at the same time I have a lot of shots I like from my iPhone!