The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Attention Inkjet Fine Art Printers

L

lilmsmaggie

I have no experience making exhibition quality prints. I would like to have the ability to make my own 11X14 B&W and Color prints, possibly 16x20. I’ve read good and bad reports about Epson inkjet printers. Although Canon and HP have upped the ante, Epson seems to be the printer of choice for exhibition quality fine art prints. Not sure if the negative reports I’ve read about Epson are from those users that are technically challenged by printer setups and profiles, or just getting their hands on a bad printer. BTW - I’m shooting 4x5 and plan on having the negatives scanned.

What really concerns me, are reports of poor customer service from Epson technical support, or lack thereof based on my readings.

I’m considering investing in an inkjet photo printer and would like to hear from those that actually do most of their own print work. I’d like them to share their experiences with inkjet printers – negative or positive. And if they were to start anew, would they continue with the same printer or throw in the towel and outsource their printing.

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
Many here on this forum have a great deal more experience than I do, with years of making prints for sale or exhibition. However, I have owned an Epson 3800 for several years now and make my own prints. My "first" photography life was with 4x5 B&W printed in a conventional darkroom and I was skeptical about ink jet printing too.