Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: epson 9900 paper load error

  1. #1
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    3,624
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1118

    epson 9900 paper load error

    i'm getting this persistent error when attempting to load sheets manually:

    set for sheet, paper load screen; drop in 8-1/2 x 11 sheet and it rests on the stop and right edge aligned; "hit Arrow Down" message, get "preparing, please wait" , shows the sheet image on the screen, head moves...

    get "paper load error" msg "load paper properly, refer to manual"

    hit paper release, paper drops out, hit paper release, goes back to start, etc.

    haven't been manually printing for a while and was able to get it to load once today and print a couple of nozzle tests, but now it is in limbo

    if at the load screen, i hot "OK", i get the option to select "roll, sheet A3, etc" and then i select Sheet, A3" and OK, it then goes into the Preparing...msg" and the catch 22 loop


    tried a different sheet of paper (also epson luster) this time it grabbed the paper and fed it in, adjusted up and down, then the same "paper load error..." msg

    re-tried and back to sq 1, wouldn't draw in the sheet anymore.


    put in a pc of 50lb bond paper, loaded and printed fine

    re-tried the epson luster, no good!

    turned the same luster paper so it would print on the back side, worked fine

    examined the luster paper, edges look perfect, no curl

    ????


    thx
    Last edited by jlm; 21st February 2013 at 11:54.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    I may be mistaken but I thought A3 paper size was 13x19. I think you would have to specify "letter" or 8.5x11.
    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Somerset - UK
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    Different papers, different settings. You may find this of use - Drivers & Support - Epson Stylus Pro 9900 Spectro Proofer - Epson
    (Manuals and documentation - then select your media - also faq).
    Best wishes,

    Ray

  4. #4
    Not Available
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    I may have you the answer... I suspect you do nothing wrong on the printer but you have to correct things on PS... try to set the exact paper size in PS and then go into the Settings menu and choose sheet... So.. 1.load the paper and choose "sheet" on the plotter, 2. Leave the plotter on standby, (don't send anything from the computer) 3.Choose (after measuring them) the exact dimensions in PS printing menu, (this is under "manage custom size") 4.Go into PS printing menu "settings" and choose "sheet" and then, 5. Hit "print" in PS printing menu... I hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    1,865
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    Sometimes the new Epson Pro wide format printers are just cranky when it comes to loading sheets, especially smaller sizes. For the most part, I'm only (re)feeding sheets while printing with the B&W 9890 piezography printer. I've had some luck shutting down the printer and turning it back on; this may help convince the paper sensor to behave better. Also try moving the media a hair over from the guidelines. Paper curl can be an issue also.

    ken

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    Jim I had the same issues with my 9900 - it seems to be finicky on certain types of media or perhaps certain individual pages.

    I just retry with another page or another media and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. If a specific sheet doesn't work sometimes I try rotating it 180 degrees and trying from the other side.

    Wish it was a little more scientific!

    Regards

    Brian

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    thought i'd weigh in on this. first post. found this thread when i ran into the same problem as the OP. NOTHING worked. never had a problem loading paper of any kind since we purchased this printer.

    the solution i found after trying everything here was to turn off the "paper size check" and "paper skew check" under menu > paper settings, by default they are on. fired right up...printed with no issues.

    i was trying to print to sheets, which i do often... but the problem first presented itself when trying to print to roll on a paper we use all the time...

    dunno. annoying...

  8. #8
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    537
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    Quote Originally Posted by pfarrell View Post
    thought i'd weigh in on this. first post. found this thread when i ran into the same problem as the OP. NOTHING worked. never had a problem loading paper of any kind since we purchased this printer.

    the solution i found after trying everything here was to turn off the "paper size check" and "paper skew check" under menu > paper settings, by default they are on. fired right up...printed with no issues.

    i was trying to print to sheets, which i do often... but the problem first presented itself when trying to print to roll on a paper we use all the time...

    dunno. annoying...
    Hi

    These setting are on the printer? Or are they software settings you are adjusting from the print driver on the computer?

    Thanks

    Phil

  9. #9
    Member Dan Berg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Mohnton,Pa.
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: epson 9900 paper load error

    Its just finicky,at least that is how my 9900 acts up occasionally.
    My fix which works 75% of the time is when inserting the print move it left about 1/16" away from the lineup mark. Does the trick for me anyway.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •