The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Idle Hands and an Idle Mind

Don Ellis

I like interesting tools -- and since the best tool is the one you have with you, I like them pocketable.

I’ve been carrying the P-38 can opener for over 40 years and about 14 years ago I tied it to an aluminum bottle opener I found in San Francisco (the black has since pretty much worn off it). I liked the symmetry: can opener and bottle opener on a cord.

Then I bought the stainless-steel, plain-edged Spyderco Ladybug a year or so ago and put it on my key ring. And then I bought a two-inch mini pry bar (a tool of questionable but must-have value :D) – so I slipped that on my key ring too.

But I really wanted a better solution for the tools now that there were four of them, soI dug out the 2mm cord and went to work.

The Toolcord weighs 69 grams, or 2.43 ounces. I can dump it in the bottom of dress trousers. Or clip the carabiner to a belt loop and let the tools hang inside a jeans pocket, away from keys and coins in the bottom of the pocket. Or clip it to a ring inside my camera bag.

Photo: Nothing professional because it would never have gotten done if I’d had to drag out the light tent and set up the lights. So I flipped the bed quilt over, laid everything out and took the photo with the Sigma DP2 with natural light coming in from two directions. Then a little post-processing.

And then I took it outside for another photo:

Cheers,
Don

pollobarca

Don,
you are obviously not black and living in south london. Theres enough there to get you 6 months for just walking about with them.