The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Ricoh GR II

S

Sean_Reid

Day spent photographing so I haven't got the energy to closely read every post here. Forgive me if I miss something... Golden section? A few comments: the size of the "canvas" isn't that important. What matters more is the divison of the available surface. Any format can be divided according to the rule. Examples? Rembrandt, for a start. Photographers? Come to mind: Stephen Shore (just draw some lines over the pictures in "Uncommon Places" - I bet he had pencil marks on the ground glass)
I studied under Stephen Shore for four years and he remains a friend. The "golden section" never interested him in the least, to my knowledge. His ideas about composition are much more complex than that and had much more to do with the relationship of the picture's space to its edges.

As for the myth of the "Golden Section" having been important to painters generally....see the study I quoted above for one perspective on that.

Cheers,

Maggie O

I studied under Stephen Shore for four years and he remains a friend. The "golden section" never interested him in the least, to my knowledge. His ideas about composition are much more complex than that and had much more to do with the relationship of the picture's space to its edges.

As for the myth of the "Golden Section" having been important to painters generally....see the study I quoted above for one perspective on that.

Cheers,
I did four years at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD) and I can't recall a single time anything even like the "golden section" ever came up.

Robert Campbell