The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Streetwork and the compact camera.

Streetshooter

Subscriber Member
Is there any interest in streetwork? That genre' is my main sourse of energy to feed my soul. I have come to terms with the Canon G9 and the Leica D-Lux 3. Those 2 cameras for me are better than anything else out there.

I qualify that statement by adding that I have a 5D, D300 and an M8. I've been a Leica photographer for many years and now that I'm full digital, these 2 cameras are it.

Does anybody work in this Genre'? Is there an interest here?

Shooter

smokysun

hi shooter,
i suspect you've opened pandora's box! most people here interested, i suspect, as the small sensor camera seems made for this kind of work. very nice shots on your site. i just re-read a book that's fairly scarce but very enjoyable and several copies available at amazon. grab it right away, if you want one.

http://www.amazon.com/Shots-Hip-Ano...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1216180284&sr=8-1

as for cameras, i did shoot a lot with the d-lux 2 and finally despaired of its low-light performance. now my two favorite cameras are the fuji 30/31 and the fuji s6000.

check out the threads on the ricoh's. this is turning out to be the choice of many people.

anyway, i'm glad you've started this thread. hopefully a lot of people will respond.

wayne
www.pbase.com/wwp

PeterA

There is a loose affiliation of about 20-30 people I stay in regular contact with who shoot street. You can find some ok stuff on PN - but most have migrated away to Flickr.