The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

LX3 is here!!??

Stuart Richardson

I agree. It is certainly better to have an informed person write poorly than an uninformed person write well (at least if you are seeking information rather than diversion), but it is a shame we cannot have both. If you want a clear demonstration of how the state of newspaper writing has declined, try reading an article from the beginning of the century. I was a graduate student in history, so I did this regularly. For example, here is an excerpt from a NY Times article from 1914 about the breakdown of relations before WWI:

"Germany is doomed to sure defeat. Bankrupt in statesmanship, overmatched in arms, under the moral condemnation of the civilized world, befriended only by the Austrian and the Turk, two backward-looking and dying nations, desperately battling against the hosts of three great powers to which help and reinforcement from States now neutral will certainly come should the decision be long deferred, she pours out the blood of her heroic subjects and wastes her diminishing substances in a hopeless struggle that postpones, but cannot alter, the fatal decree." Hey David Pogue, the 1914 NY Times called. They want their newspaper back. Ok, that was just dumb, but the difference in the writing is stark. Granted, it is a hell of a run on sentence, but the sheer authority of the words and structure is impressive.

At this point I will stop and not bring this up again.

I think the samples from the LX3 look good for a digital point and shoot and it has some excellent features, so I hope that those of you who buy it truly enjoy it!

O