The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Need Help for a gift

R

RMR2416

PhotoJunkies,
I'm Roland, and I'm a noob. I have done research for the past 4 weeks for a X-mas gift for my wife; her only hobby for the past 4 years has been our young daughter, adn it's time for her to renew with photography (she really needs to get out of the house). About her; she is a school teacher and loves photography (Loves Adams and studied photograpgy in College for her own pleasure). We have a Nikon Coolpix 4300 (we use it often for events but miss 50% of the shots (it's that slow)) and she has a Pentax K100 35mm, all manual, with a couple of lenses. However, this camera has not left it's bag for the past 4 years (too big and bulky when you have a young kid to tote as well).

She likes to take pictures of landscapes, portraits, birds, some light macro work with flowers and bugs (butterflies...) and of course shot of our daughter (I'm far too ugly). I believe composition is more important to her than actual output quality.

Here's where I need your help; I have looked at a couple of affordable DSLR, namely the Nikon D40 (no liveview) and the Sony Alpha300 (liveview, good deals on it). Porblem is, she already has a nice 35mm with lenses, and it never leaves the house. Why repeat the equipment, especially if it's use is limited.