The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What do you use as a back-up camera?

dhsimmonds

I have gone against the trend! As a wildlife photographer I really do need a proper optical viewfinder on my cams whether as a back-up or as the main camera. So with a trip to Botswana and Zambia imminent, what should I use as a back-up for my A900?....A big dilemna as I very nearly bought the A700 back earlier in the year when the dealers were selling them off.......Sony have so far never replaced it either! :mad:

I thought about the NEX 5, no good for me as no viewfinder and poor reports for use with long lenses. Then bingo, whilst searching for a good used A700, I chanced upon a brand new one at a multiple store in the UK....I snapped it up! :D

Now I could go on safari in Africa with the 70-400g lens on the A900 and my reliable little lightweight but excellent quality Minolta 28-105 on the A700 (effectively 42-158). Just two lenses and two cams to make up a useful fairly lightweight wildlife kit. My collection of Zeiss lenses were not selected due to weight restrictions on the small single engined aircraft used between safari camps.

It worked just fine for me and I am very pleased with my wildlife and people images "bagged" in Africa with this kit. :thumbs:

Of course if I just wanted to capture landscapes or people.....my choice of main and back up cams with choice of lenses would be quite different and I realise that everyone will have their own personal preferences.

Braeside

Sounds like it worked out well for you Dave.
I suppose an A55 might be the logical choice for a lot of people now.