The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lens recommendations for NEX-5?

Mike Hatam

Senior Subscriber Member
Just picked up an NEX-5, and I'm new to the system. I'm getting the two-lens kit (16 & 18-55).

What I'd like to add now are some fast manual-focus primes, but not sure what lenses work best on the NEX-5 with adapters.

Are there issues with wide-angle M mount lenses (such as on the mFT systems), where the edges get very soft?

I'm on a budget, so looking for good "value" picks. Would like some recommendations for the following:

- wide-angle landscape lens (something wider than the Sony 16mm lens)
- fast "normal" prime in the 30-50 range (effective 45-75mm range)
- fast portrait lens in the 50-70mm range (effective 75-100mm range)

If possible, would like all my "alternative" lenses to be of the same mount, to simplify packing a light kit that shares adapters.

Thanks,
Mike

iiiNelson

I haven't gotten my NEX--> Adapter yet but I still have a CV 28/2 Ultron and 50/1.5 Nokton that I used on Micro 4/3. There's a thread with image examples from adapted lenses on the NEX. A lot of people seem to like the Contax G series lenses as well as Olympus PEN lenses from faster primes. You should check out that thread too.

M

meilicke

Mike, while I do not have a NEX (so ignore the rest if you like ;)), in my obsessive looking at the NEX/SLT with various options, the minolta primes look good. Inexpensive, and seemingly very good performance. Reportedly they have A control with the sony E to A adaptor, and will of course auto-focus with any alpha mount if you decide to go that route in the future.