The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A900 manual focus pocus?

lowep

Just tried my old 28mm Leica R lens with adapter on A900 and noticed the green focus confirmation light came on and stayed on for about 20-30 degrees rotation of the lens focusing ring. That seemed to me to be quite a lot?

I am no rocket scientist but inspired by NASA's space program I just did a kitchen test on a row of spice flasks with manual focus at the start, middle and end of the zone where the green focus confirmation light was on and noticed slight but not enormous differences in where the focus point ended up.

The camera has a standard G focusing screen that does enable me to eyeball what dissolves in and out of focus as I move the focusing ring. But I never find this easy to judge with a wide angle lens on any camera. So mostly I rely (maybe too much) on the green MF confirmation light.

Sometimes I end up spinning the focusing ring wildly as I try to figure out which way I need to spin it to hit the green zone. Maybe this means I need to drink less coffee?

So would like to ask:

Is this amount of focus "play" in the zone where the green focus confirmation light is on normal? Is it the same when you manual focus with OEM-Sony lenses?

Any suggestion for a technique that can be used to get manual focus spot on within the green confirmation zone? Maybe I ought to turn the focussing ring to the end of the zone then back off a little towards the middle?