The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Anyone using the new ZA50/1.4?

fotografz

Looking for honest user opinions on this new lens.

At $1,500, it is no small decision ... and the reviews so far seem a bit lack-luster.

However, I'm interested in the X factors of AF speed, character and color (especially wide open), which is more important criteria to me than something like corner-to-corner performance.

Any input would be most welcome!

Thanks,

-Marc

Malina DZ

I have no first hand experience but from the RAW files I saw it has a much better corner to corner resolution and contrast than Sony 50/1.4 at f/1.4. Users say it has a typical Zeiss color/character and a very fast AF. It's no doubt one of the best 50mm on the market. Wish it had a better distortion and CA control though - the reason why I'm going to pass on this ZA and enjoy the old Sony version a little longer.

msadat

Hi mark, i ordered this lens when it was announced, used it in a bbq party with stunning results mostly wide open. i also have the sigma 50mm sony mount and when i get a chance i will compare them. i have used the sigma 50 on both canon and nikon with great results. size wise it is also very big especially when u put the hood on. the big question as you pointed out the is price.

fotografz