The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Just a heads-up for you folks having issues with the new FE 55mm f1.8

nikonf

:banghead: I just wanted to let you folks know that you can expect more QC problems with Sony Zeiss ZA lenses than you may be accustomed to.
I have been using the Sony A900 since 2009 and I had a serious problem with my Zeiss 24-70 f2.8 ZA.
I know one should not expect this issue with a $2000 lens, except my lens had a serious wobble in the lens zoom barrel, even at the closed position.
While Zeiss can design superb lenses, it seems the Sony QC is not up to the mark!
I have also spoken to other owners of the lens that had the same issues.
I love Zeiss optics. I just wish Sony would have the same excellent quality control on these lenses that Zeiss has on the manual focus lenses for Canon and Nikon.
I will keep my fingers crossed with the 55mm f1.8.
Wishing you all good luck,
Mike

GrahamB

I've shot Sony (and before that Minolta) since 2007. Four cameras (a700, a850, a77, a7R) all still in service, and 3 Sony branded lenses (ZA 24mm f/2, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200 f/2.8 G). Not one problem.

Graham

jonoslack

I've shot Sony (and before that Minolta) since 2007. Four cameras (a700, a850, a77, a7R) all still in service, and 3 Sony branded lenses (ZA 24mm f/2, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200 f/2.8 G). Not one problem.

Graham
Hi There Graham
I'd quite agree - I've had less problem with Sony kit in terms of QC than Nikon or Pentax or Leica . . . . . only Olympus seem to have been better.

. . . I've had a700 A77, A900, A65, NEX 7 . . . Zeiss 24-70, Sony 70-300 ZA 24 f2 50 f1.4 (and lots more).