The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Am I crazy? Moving from Nikon D800 to A7 or A7R

MontyMo

Hi everyone,

I've been a amateur photographer since the early 1970s. Nikon all the way. Starting with an F2, then an F3, then a bunch of digital Nikons. Currently I have a D800 with a grip. I have three AF lenses, 14-24 f/2.8, 24-70 f/2.8 and 70-200 VRII f/2.8.

I always believed that bigger is better. it doesn't get much bigger than the "tank" I am carrying these days.

While at work I am always listening to POD casts. Recently they have been chattering about mirror less camera. I blew them off for the most part. Much to my surprise two people (on the POD cast) that I respect, have sold their D800s and purchased A7Rs. They Love the tiny cameras. TO top it off, a woman I respect in our photo club has a A7R. She too loves it.

So here I am, considering putting my Nikon gear on eBay and moving to Sony. Am I insane? I love the IQ of my Nikon, but I am getting a little tired of lugging it around. I am a street photographer. No way can I sneak up on someone with that camera. :)

I'd like the smaller file size of the A7. I'm not sure I'd be happy with it. For that matter I'm not sure I'd like the A7R.

I'd start out with the 55mm f/1.8

I just don't know what to do. I've never felt this way with my Nikon gear. The new stuff is always bigger and that equals better.....

Sorry for this long and rambling post. I guess I am looking for input for a former "big DSLR" shooters. I'd be instructed in your thoughts.

Thanks
Monty

k-hawinkler

If you can afford it why not have both systems for awhile.