The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lessons learned. Shooting tips

ZoranC

I can't tell you how many times I have accidentally changed EV dial on this thing without noticing it, it is becoming annoying.

tn1krr

A couple of tips that are not really available in any documentation, but are kind of learned camera behavior. Not sure if these have been discussed here before; but these often seems to be news even to pro photographers arriving to Sony system (I'm a noob in photography but have used E Mount Sony for a couple of years and I'm sort of obsessive about learning all the quirks of the equipment). Related to low light shooting as I live in this dark miserable place; I think I only shot my A7R in 1st time in natural light with ISO 100 last weekend despite being among the first to get one in mid november last year.

1. One can put the A7(R) or pretty much any E Mount camera into "always focus wide open despite chosen aperture" mode by setting the Live View Setting Effect off. Works both AF and MF and makes AF a bit better/accurate (the biggest reason my 24-70/4 OSS went back was AF accuracy in low light/short distance, F/4 just did not seem to be enough for pixel level accuracy with the A7R when viewed 100%) and less prone to hunt with for example FE 55/1.8.