The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sony NEX vs A7 - Is it just me?

f64

I've been photographing for a few years with a NEX-5 and a NEX-C3. My primary interest is industrial archeology and that's fairly challenging in several respects (including physical, after 60) mainly because of the extreme dynamic range, very low light, and tonal range. Normal configuration is (tripod, of course) NEX-5+Contax Zeiss 50/1.4 and NEX-C3 + CV Heliar 15. I occasionally use other lenses including a Contax Zeiss 80-200, a Nikkor 135/2.8. I even used a Canon 500/8 Reflex (some places are huge).

Now for the question: I had very high expectations on Sony A7. However I have been using it for a while and I am a bit underwhelmed. I do not see a dramatic change from the NEX: sure 24Mpix are handy, but I managed to print fairly good 60x90s from the C3, and noise might be lower. But I do not see a dramatically better rendering (do I dare say, sometimes the opposite)?

Time to change glasses, or someone else has the same feeling?

fotografz

Perhaps the FF A7 is challenging your legacy lenses more than a lower res APSc cropped sensor does?

Sometimes certain combinations of sensor and lenses meet expectations more than others.

FF renders DOF differently (less) at any given f/stop and distance, and APSc often uses the sweet-spot of an optic.