The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

DXO D810

Ben Rubinstein

I've found that using the sensor to 'oversample' a lens does lead to wonderful tonality and transitions which again cannot be seen to the same extent on a smaller resolutioned sensor. As such perhaps we may not be able to see 56 megapixels of resolution but we may see more than 36, a given in the center of most good lenses, and the tonality, transitions, etc will only get better.

But I'm no scientist, just seeing what I've seen going from 12 to 22 to 36 megapixels with a specific lens.

Arne Hvaring

Scaling up to full frame the 24mpx sensor of NEX 7 or a6000 we get 56mpx. There are a number of lenses that out resolve the NEX sensor and they will of course out resolve the 56mpx full frame as well, at least in the central part of the image. Is this increase in resolution compared to a 36mpx sensor really worthless if it doesn´t extend to the very corners?
We already have lenses that will show very good corner performance, like your new 50mm Sigma, the Otus, Zeiss 135mm Apo, probably the 100mm Makro etc., and more are coming.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
I just buy the best glass I can and get what I can squeeze out of it. The Sigma Art series are wonderful at it as is a lot of Zeiss designed glass. Right now I'm very happy with the lenses I have but it's always going to be a balance of IQ, size, weight and costs as well. This regardless of MPX. I like having a lot but I also love having the A6000 little cam. Damn thing is very impressive and if I need DOF its a nice choice regardless it being APS and 24 mpx.

Jack

Sr. Administrator