The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Exposing for Sony A7R? Same as all digital cameras?

Hi,

Just posted this on Fred Miranda and received a very mixed bag of responses, so I thought i would post it here and see what the general consensus is.. This forum seems to be the place for Sony related discussion, so maybe will be able to reach a more definite approach here.. :)

My original post and responses are here..

Exposing with the Sony A7R? Is it different to a Canon or other models? - FM Forums

I am fairly new to digital and have a Sony A7R with a variety of manual focus lenses..

I know the Sony A7R sensors are renowned for their amazing shadow recovery and I have been able to seriously "under expose" the image to protect the highlights in an image and then bring back detail in the shadows in RAW software..

Am just wondering if this basic technique applies to all digital cameras or is it something specific to Sony Sensors?

Is a general rule in digital to underexpose, so as to protect the highlights? Does this same general principle apply to Canon sensors for example?

I read these two articles recently..

Expose Right

Optimizing Exposure

and they basically contradict everything I thought was the case with digital exposure..

I always lumped digital exposure in roughly the same category as transparency film.. ie it was better to underexpose slightly and then with negative film was better to overexpose slightly as it was harder to blow out the highlights..

So am curious to know how people approach this?

Thanks so much in advance!

iiiNelson