The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

what sony to get next? or non-sony?

absolutic

My background is a hobbyist with a very active and always running toddler (2.8 year old). In fact he never stops, he only stops when he goes to sleep. And when he stops for less than a second his head and body never sit still, he always moving. I've owned most cameras from most manufacturers through Canon 5DM3 on Canon side and through Nikon D800 on Nikon side. Also owned most mirrorless up to Oly EM1, Fuji XT1. As many others I am sure I got tired of carrying a DSLR with few lenses and a baby bag in another hand and dealing with a child while having large camera hanging on me. So Enter Sony. And I went all Sony.

I owned the original A7, A7r, and A7II from A7 class. I've never owned A7s. A7r - great camera but I could never get a still shot of my son. Too slow for that child. So I had high hopes for A7II. After a month and a half with A7II I sold it this morning. Nice camera but again the AF is just not there for my general use - It is clearly better than A7r and A7, and I was able to track my child running toward me outside however, inside in low light... not so awesome.

My other two Sony cameras are A6000 and A850. Ironically A850 with its ancient AF mechanism, I get much more keepers of my child indoors in focus with same lenses than A7II with either native FE lenses, or A7II with LA-EA4 adapter and same A mount lenses I use on A850 (24-70/2.8 ZA and 85/1.4 ZA). However, A850 produces great shots at base ISO, however high ISO is not a match for most others modern Full Frame Cameras.