The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Embarrassing question(s): How do I select an AF point on the A7II?

animefx

I just bought a used Sony A7II camera along with the Zeiss 55 1.8 lens and the close focus adapter to use with my Leica lenses.

So far I'm not very impressed to be honest but I'm still learning the system and experimenting.

I have a few questions though starting with the title. I've looked online and can't find a simple answer on how to select the AF points myself. Most say use C2 and the middle button but I'm confused with the terminology they are using. When I assign the buttons I'm not seeing anything to select my own AF point at all. Since I bought this camera used, the settings aren't on the defaults so I think my C3 or C2 brings up white balance instead. Is it easy to restore the default settings? I don't have the camera with me at the moment.

Another thing when I'm using the Leica lenses and using zoom assist... I'm not clear if it's actually stabilizing or not. I get a lot of motion blur still. The manual says that the shutter has to be half pressed but as soon as soon as I do that it goes out of the zoomed view and is extremely jarring btw. I want to be able to have the shutter half pressed while smart zooming and stay zoomed in until the photo is taken. Is this possible?