The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New A7ii owner... lens choices

I've been having a debate as a new user of the A7ii, as to which lenses to buy, I have had some experience of the most popular Sony E mount glass (24-70, 55, 35/2.8) having tried an A7 last year but the A7ii feels a much nicer camera, I'm coming over from a Nikon D750 as I've been a bit fed up lugging huge lenses around all the time and rather than split systems (for example keep my Nikon and add a Fuji CSC) I feel that the A7ii can give me the best of both worlds, great FF IQ and a body that can be larger when I need (Battery grip), or smaller when I'm travelling or sticking the camera in my everyday bag.

I'm finding lens choice complicated a little by the fact that the 24-70 f4 isn't great, normally I'd have that as my staple lens and then a wider prime but the poor 24-70 makes me wonder if I'd prefer the 16-35 and the supplement that with primes further up the line.

My initial plan for this year (and partly why I bought the A7ii) was to "simplify" my photography a little and allow me to refocus on the image, the shot rather than what has been for the last year an almost constantly evolving kit bag (D800>XT1>D750>D810>D750).

To that end I've been thinking about the 3x Loxia lenses, (21,35 & 50) as that would cover off the vast majority of my shooting and I love the idea of manual focus, most of what I do is tripod based anyway so the speed of AF isn't needed.

However the Loxia 35 (which I've tried) seemed "ok" rather than spectacular for £900 worth so I may forgo that for the 35/f2.8 and save some cash!