The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Where are the 100mm F2 lenses for shooting headshots?

dmward

When I was a young photographer my favorite lens for shooting portraits was the 150mm on the Hasselblad. Then the 105mm on a Nikon or the 90 on my M4.

I would love to find a 100mm F2 lens for my A7RII for headshots. In my view, 85 is a bit short.

Anyone with suggestions?

uhoh7

DSC05960 by unoh7, on Flickr

1963 Canon LTM 100/2 which is a fantastic lens. Rare though.

Wheelbarrow by unoh7, on Flickr

My Elk by unoh7, on Flickr

Now, at F/2 100mm a head shot is going to be 90% blurry. So the older version of the Nikkor 105/2.5 (sonnar) would also be something to consider.

For modern lenses, the ZF.2 100/2 is raved about.

jotloob

Subscriber Member
Have a look for the OM ZUIKO AUTO F2 100mm .
This lens is extremely sharp , even at F2 . Its a MF lens and you will need an adapter . Price for a good lens will be around 600€ - 800€ on eBay .
Lenses from japanese seller are mostly in excellent condition .

SamSS

David, give Samyang 135mm f2 E-mount a try. It's fantastic.
Sharp wide open and practically not much to clean up.
I think most MFGs probably going to introduce an AF 135mm anytime now.
We have too many standard lenses.

V

Vivek

Ancient 10.5cm f/2.5 P.C. Nikkor (ltm)- Sonnar type or the F mount version of the same variety.

dmward

Thanks for all the suggestions.
I'll add some conditions;
A) Auto focus. I've recently learned the benefit of eye auto focus and the focus button on the 24-70GM and the 70-200 G lenses.