Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 38 of 38

Thread: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Link here: TechArt Pro auto focus for manual lens, version 3 firmware released: Sony Alpha Full Frame E-mount Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review
    I was not successful in updating using the iOS app.
    Has anybody been successful? TIA.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Link here: TechArt Pro auto focus for manual lens, version 3 firmware released: Sony Alpha Full Frame E-mount Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review
    I was not successful in updating using the iOS app.
    Has anybody been successful? TIA.
    Hi there K-H,

    Thanks, I'll give it a try later today.
    Using the iOS app I succeeded re-aplying FW 2.0 ... so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

    But what happened or didn't work ?

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Thanks Bart. I explained it in the link above.
    With best regards, K-H.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Is there any info available about what this new FW does? I have not seen any note on the Techart web site.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I did install FW.3.0 without any problem but I decided to revert back to FW 2.0 which in my experience is much more stable. With the new FW I had in 15 minutes several lock-up which I never experienced before: suddenly the camera went back by itself to MF (with focus peacking activated) and had had to switch it off to restore operations.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    12,764
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    41

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Sounds like an element of AI is in the v3.0 , Ario.
    Sale Items (http://www.getdpi.com/forum/gear-fs-...8806-sale.html)
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Hi, is this firmware for M mount adapter only or for Contax G adapter as well? Thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by yashima View Post
    Hi, is this firmware for M mount adapter only or for Contax G adapter as well? Thanks
    M mount only.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    851
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Link here: TechArt Pro auto focus for manual lens, version 3 firmware released: Sony Alpha Full Frame E-mount Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review
    I was not successful in updating using the iOS app.
    Has anybody been successful? TIA.
    Kurt-

    Is there a way to update the firmware w/o using a smart phone ?
    i.e. via your computer

    Thanks in advance.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by The Ute View Post
    Kurt-

    Is there a way to update the firmware w/o using a smart phone ?
    i.e. via your computer

    Thanks in advance.
    No, this is the only available procedure, to the best of my knowledge.

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    My update process gets as far as this:

    LM-EA7
    Firmware for LM-EA7 Ver3.0.0 20160626 √

    Read file success
    Discovering adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Found 1 adapter LM-EA7
    Connecting adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Connect adapter LM-EA7 success
    Discovering service for updata......

    I have waited far longer then 10 minutes. Nothing.
    My lens is still at Ver.02.

    What am I missing? TIA

    UPDATE

    Now I get in the lower left corner of the screen running numbers, counting down.
    In the lower right corner rssi: -90db. <- Those db numbers fluctuate between -84 and -92.

    SUCCESS! looks like this:

    LM-EA7
    Firmware for LM-EA7 Ver3.0.0 20160626 √

    Read file success
    Discovering adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Found 1 adapter LM-EA7
    Connecting adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Connect adapter LM-EA7 success
    Discovering service for updata (sic!)......
    Discover service success
    Discover characteristics success
    Writing firmware data to adapter LM-EA7, please wait......
    Write data success
    Verify data success
    Install firmware into adatper (sic!) LM-EA7
    Adapter LM-EA7 firmware updata (sic!) success!

    0>>0 rssi: -88...

    I checked the lens, it's now at Ver.03!

    I wonder what caused the problems I encountered?
    I hadn't used the adapter in a couple of weeks it seems.
    Could the adapter internal battery have been to low to sustain the bluetooth connection to my iPad?
    Or something was wrong at the server, Internet, etc.?

    Now let's see whether this is an improvement over Ver.02 or not for my lenses.

    BTW, during the update process I used an iPad3 and had a Meike battery grip attached to the A7r2.
    Last edited by k-hawinkler; 27th June 2016 at 07:47.
    With best regards, K-H.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    851
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Ario Arioldi View Post
    No, this is the only available procedure, to the best of my knowledge.
    Thanks.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    My update process gets as far as this:

    LM-EA7
    Firmware for LM-EA7 Ver3.0.0 20160626 √

    Read file success
    Discovering adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Found 1 adapter LM-EA7
    Connecting adapter LM-EA7 ......
    Connect adapter LM-EA7 success
    Discovering service for updata......

    I have waited far longer then 10 minutes. Nothing.
    My lens is still at Ver.02.

    What am I missing? TIA

    UPDATE

    Now I get in the lower left corner of the screen running numbers, counting down.
    In the lower right corner rssi: -90db. <- Those db numbers fluctuate between -84 and -92.
    Lens at ver 02 means that has been updated to FW 3.0 (FW 2.0 corresponds to lens ver 01)
    From the Techart web site Admin:
    "Admin
    June 20, 2016 at 10:44 am Reply
    Sorry for the confusion. LENS ver.01 = Firmware v2.0"
    Last edited by Ario Arioldi; 27th June 2016 at 07:53.
    Ario
    www.arioarioldi.net
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  14. #14
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I find really strange that no information whatsoever is available on the Techart web site about this FW. I have requested info to the technical service, but I am still waiting for their reply. As I said before for me it does not work and I have installed again the older 2.0. Wait and see
    Ario
    www.arioarioldi.net
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Ario Arioldi View Post
    Lens at ver 02 means that has been updated to FW 3.0 (FW 2.0 corresponds to lens ver 01)
    From the Techart web site Admin:
    "Admin
    June 20, 2016 at 10:44 am Reply
    Sorry for the confusion. LENS ver.01 = Firmware v2.0"
    My update went smoothly and my lens version now reads "Ver. 0.3".
    So far I had a few lock ups (black screen) and some odd hunting. No clue yet what's causing this or under what situation.
    PowerOff/PowerOn cures it.
    Bart ...
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  16. #16
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Thanks Bart. "Ver. 0.3" really? Isn't it Ver.03, no?

    Thanks Ario. I agree with you, this new version seems more fragile. However, I will live with it for awhile and more fully explore what it does.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Thanks Bart. "Ver. 0.3" really? Isn't it Ver.03, no?
    Oops, you're correct: "Ver. 03"
    Bart ...

  18. #18
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    On my A7r2 I have: Body: ILCE-7RM2 Ver. 3.20 and Lens Ver.03.

    I have now successfully initialized 15mm=F11, 35mm=F22, 50mm=F25, 90mm=F29 and taken correctly exposed images with F=2 showing the correct Exif that I had set.
    However, when I choose 135mm=F32 the camera switches from AF to MF and is stuck there until I reset with F11,22,25, or 29.

    Puzzled!

    Here is the instruction page from the manual that came with the adapter.

    With best regards, K-H.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    To me Tech Art appears to be about like DJI is with their drones.... they have great idea's but just are not up to the demands of a world market and the expectations other regions have with firmware updates and product reliability. The happiest day of my life was getting rid of that DJI drone for half of what I had in it... what a POS it was with absolutely no product quality or reliability. Glad I never went the TechArt route with the setup and firmware hiccups I read others experiencing with these adapter. If it works; your good as gold... if it doesn't? Well it appears to be akin to standing naked in a blizzard in a white out.........

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    12,764
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    41

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Jim, That is an interesting way to call a product a POS without actually calling it a POS.

    I would never do that to the FE 50/1.8!

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    On my A7r2 I have: Body: ILCE-7RM2 Ver. 3.20 and Lens Ver.03.

    I have now successfully initialized 15mm=F11, 35mm=F22, 50mm=F25, 90mm=F29 and taken correctly exposed images with F=2 showing the correct Exif that I had set.
    However, when I choose 135mm=F32 the camera switches from AF to MF and is stuck there until I reset with F11,22,25, or 29.

    Puzzled!
    Yep, same setup here and F32 is still not fixed.
    Let's say mine is silver-gilt ...
    Bart ...
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  22. #22
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Knorp View Post
    Yep, same setup here and F32 is still not fixed.
    Let's say mine is silver-gilt ...

    Thanks Bart.
    Yup, as I have pointed out multiple times before, we are beta testers.
    That suits me just fine.

    If someone wants a rock solid adapter, be prepared to wait several years, while I am having fun.
    I have shot all afternoon the Leica Elmarit-M 90/2.8 with the adapter.
    It mostly works. But sometimes the adapter switches by itself to manual mode.
    This mostly seems to happen when one is trying to get lots a successive shots in.
    It appears in that case that the adapter can't quite keep up.
    Once it's in that state, one has to switch the camera off.
    Switching the camera off, waiting, back on, if necessary repeating, seems to rectify the confusion.
    Of course, by then the birds I wanted to shoot are long gone.
    Nevertheless, I got some nice images.

    I cannot imagine someone using this adapter in its current state taking pictures on demand.
    That seems to be a recipe for disaster.

    My impression from this afternoon, focusing is a tad slower than before, but succeeds more often.
    Overall stability seems to have degraded a bit, but not very much. It was unstable before as well.
    Also occasionally some images are underexposed.
    Last edited by k-hawinkler; 28th June 2016 at 19:36.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post

  23. #23
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I had the very same problem, several times, with the adapter switching by itself to MF but only with FW 3.0. Now I am back to FW 2.0 an that problem has gone. May be I have not used FW 3.0 long enough but really I found no reason to keep it. I use the adapter mounted on a A7MII mod (Kolarivision)
    Ario
    www.arioarioldi.net
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  24. #24
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Ario Arioldi View Post
    I had the very same problem, several times, with the adapter switching by itself to MF but only with FW 3.0. Now I am back to FW 2.0 an that problem has gone. May be I have not used FW 3.0 long enough but really I found no reason to keep it. I use the adapter mounted on a A7MII mod (Kolarivision)

    Thanks Ario.

    The issue that the adapter switches to MF has happened to me also with the previous firmware on A7r2.

    One difference between Ver.02 and Ver.03 seems to be a change in focussing algorithm.

    Now the focussing seems to make progress in smaller steps towards the subject. I can feel and hear those steps. Switching between two subjects, one at 2 to 3 yards, the other at 10 to 15 yards, I can also see in the EVF the progress towards focus.

    This was with the pretty heavy, but optically excellent Elmarit-M 90/2.8. I really should repeat that test with the much lighter Tele-Elmarit-M 90/2.8.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  25. #25
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    Thanks Ario.

    The issue that the adapter switches to MF has happened to me also with the previous firmware on A7r2.

    One difference between Ver.02 and Ver.03 seems to be a change in focussing algorithm.

    Now the focussing seems to make progress in smaller steps towards the subject. I can feel and hear those steps. Switching between two subjects, one at 2 to 3 yards, the other at 10 to 15 yards, I can also see in the EVF the progress towards focus.

    This was with the pretty heavy, but optically excellent Elmarit-M 90/2.8. I really should repeat that test with the much lighter Tele-Elmarit-M 90/2.8.
    Thank You,
    may be I gave up too early and I have to try again.
    Ario
    www.arioarioldi.net
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  26. #26
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I just did some tests with the adapter on the a6300 camera that also has PDAF.
    Similar behavior to the A7r2, but seems more fragile on the a6300.
    With best regards, K-H.

  27. #27
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,848
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I have not had time to test 3, but was having weird glitches with 2.

    Random menu settings would change, and sometimes the adapter would just stop working, requiring a reboot.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  28. #28
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by monza View Post
    I have not had time to test 3, but was having weird glitches with 2.

    Random menu settings would change, and sometimes the adapter would just stop working, requiring a reboot.
    Thanks. Yup, still happens with 3.
    Nevertheless, one can get some lucky shots like this one.



    a6300 + LM-EA7 Ver.03 + Elmarit-M 90/2.8
    Last edited by k-hawinkler; 29th June 2016 at 14:20.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek View Post
    Jim, That is an interesting way to call a product a POS without actually calling it a POS.

    I would never do that to the FE 50/1.8!


    Vivek, I will only directly call a product a POS if I bought and paid for it and it proved to ultimately be a POS due to my experience's with it. Figure at that point I paid for and earned the right to voice a direct opinion about it. I am far more subtle when it is info I have read but have had no actual hands on experience with....... These TechArt adapters seem to be great if you get a good one or till one needs to upgrade it's firmware.... then it appears to be pretty much like play Russian Roulette with 5 rounds in the cylinder instead of just one. Chances are better than good it isn't going to go well.......

  30. #30
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,848
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim DE View Post
    These TechArt adapters seem to be great if you get a good one or till one needs to upgrade it's firmware.... then it appears to be pretty much like play Russian Roulette with 5 rounds in the cylinder instead of just one. Chances are better than good it isn't going to go well.......
    I find updating to be a POC.

    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    That can be said for many products and it has been my experience that Far East businesses have great ideas and initial products come very close to advertised abilities but firmware updates tend to be far below industry standards and average customer abilities in execution of updates. I feel this may be due to a poor communications and understanding of worldwide languages and expectations between the firmware developer and the actual manufacturing companies. Sort of like a brain surgeon explaining a surgical procedure to a cat

  32. #32
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Jim, I think you seem to be a bit harsh here and tend to over-generalize.
    I am willing to give new companies with novel products some slack.
    My expectation is that they will likely need a few years to improve their products so that one can depend on them. So, let's agree to disagree.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  33. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I have no issue with agreeing to disagree that's all good in the hood and I guess my views could seem harsh to some. Being from a management manufacturing background I am just not tolerant of companies who do business in a world market and are just not near the same level of quality and competence as the rest of those they compete with. A product or a firmware update should do as expected. The customers spends their money and deserves certain expectations from the product they buy that similar products on the world market do provide.

    There is in the news this week of a Tesla that while in auto drive mode drove itself into the back of a 18 wheeler in front of it killing the driver. Wonder what that drivers reply would be to your comment of "taking a few years to improve their product so that one can depend on them".

    Yeah I know autos and adapters are two different worlds but being from a industry where quality or engineering issues can kill I expect all products to be ready for the main event or stay in the garage until it is ready. Just sayin ... I call them as I see them through my eyes and experience's. If a company wants to sell in the world market it had better be ready to be compared to other businesses in the world market.

  34. #34
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Thanks Jim. Which product is similar to the Techart adapter?

    The Techart adapter in its current state is definitely not for you.

    Although I agree with your expectations for mature products, I also believe a different set of expectations is more realistic when applied to novel products. Obviously many folks agree with that considering the backlog for this adapter.
    Last edited by k-hawinkler; 3rd July 2016 at 08:46.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I would generalize the market that that the tech art adapter competes in to the whole class of adapters including the Sony OEM which I assure you the Internet would turn into a firestorm of whining and complaints if their firmware had a tenth of the updating issues experienced by Techart customers.

    waiting lists do not always relate to quality or longevity of a technology. Example 8 tracks players when they came out or cassette players when they were released or even polar-vision I stand video or DeLorean DCM-12. New technology often causes demand but may not sustain if it is flawed or below expectations.

    Anyway I really have no reason to get involved in this as I have no skin in the game nor will I whether they as successful or not in the end. I just stated a observation from the comments I see about these across the web on this and past tech art products. I did have skin in DJI and can say due to my experiences that their stuff is pure high tech junk.

    Hope k-h that you have zero issues and it works out far beyond your expectations.

    I view this as a result of the Internet. I see it like a neighbor who has a child in a elementary school choir with some talent. The kid wants to sing in Carnegie Hall so the parents some how get a gig for the kid at Carnegie Hall. Now the patrons don't know the kid but buy tickets due to a perceived expected performance level for Carnegie Hall. They arrive and sit down and are subjected to a level far below expectations and demand their money back because all they heard was a common 10 year old singing with no exceptional value. Now this kid eventually may be at a level to perform at Carnigue Hall but just because he wants to be there now does not mean he should.

    The Internet allows anyone to enter the world market but does not assure they are ready to be there and can offer what other in the market are expected to offer their customers. This is the consumer beware issue with buying new tech off the net from non established businesses

  36. #36
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    Thanks Jim. As far as I can tell there is no competing product out there that would autofocus my Leica M lenses on my A7r.2 and on my a6300 (I don't have an A7.2).

    In my eyes it's a beta release with stability problems that seems to be able to focus subjects that have fairly high contrast. For me that's a gain. If it doesn't focus I can switch to manual focus.

    I'll leave it at that.
    With best regards, K-H.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  37. #37
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,617
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    With best regards, K-H.

  38. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    824
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: TechArt Pro Ver3.0.0 firmware released

    I'll just weigh in and say that I am very satisfied with the Techart Pro. It is a much better product than their Contax G adapter (which btw, eventually became quite stable after multiple FW updates). There is no illusion that Techart are a tier one manufacturer/retailer so buyer beware but for what they are, the product is remarkable.

    I've used it for paid gigs, in ultra low light and for family vacation pics with only the occasional hiccup - even less with FW ver. 3

    Just posted a review with some Zeiss ZM lenses here: https://chadwadsworth.com/2016/07/18...-focus-lenses/

    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •