Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    Hi everyone, I haven't posted here in a while.

    I'm trying to sync my A7rII to a third party piece of hardware that includes a a 6.3mm shutter sync port that allows the syncing of the hardware to a camera.

    The manufacturer offers shutter release cables for the popular brands like Nikon, Canon, Hasselblad even PhaseOne but not Sony.

    I'm needing to shoot tethered with CaptureOne and also be able to sync using the 6.3mm port on the hardware.

    Would anybody have a creative way that this can be accomplished? It seems to me that most camera sync ports are 3.5mm ? Or, would the Nikon specific cable the manufacturer offers work with the A7rII? The tip connecting to the camera resembles the micro-usb that goes into my camera but then I don't know how I could shoot tethered with my computer.

    Thank you,

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    2,545
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    IIRC there was recently here a post that showed just that kind of cable you need.
    It was made in the UK and fairly inexpensive. Maybe someone else can point directly to that post. Good luck.
    With best regards, K-H.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    Quote Originally Posted by k-hawinkler View Post
    IIRC there was recently here a post that showed just that kind of cable you need.
    It was made in the UK and fairly inexpensive. Maybe someone else can point directly to that post. Good luck.
    That would be awesome... I did a full forum search and couldn't come up with anything.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MikeEvangelist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    If you're handy with a soldering iron, and a little surgery, you can get one of these cords and splice it onto one of the standard cords. (or make an in-between adapter with 2.5 and 6.3mm jacks).

    You'll have to figure out which pins of the standard cable correspond to the three pins of the Sony cable (which are a common, focus and trigger, iirc.)

    I did this to use my Sony on a Gigapan rig.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    Is there something I could do wirelessly in that case?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    480
    Post Thanks / Like

    Thumbs up Re: Wired Shutter Release for A7rII

    There's a playmemories app for your phone.

    Also this one
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...nycamera&hl=en

    And here's a wired remote
    http://sonyalphanex.blogspot.com/201...7-cameras.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •