The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hasselblad Lunar : they go defensive

proenca

Hasselblad, after receiving humongus criticism about their new Lunar camera, has gone defensive ; article on BJP :

Hasselblad: 'We're not robbing people off with Lunar camera' - British Journal of Photography

For me, I'm perplexed. Both by the announcement of the camera and by the "defensive" interview.

Hasselblad for me, which I've been a photographer for over 18 years, has meant two things :

- superb lens which translate to superb image quality
- great craftmanship and materials which translates to long long life

Lunar has none of both. Leins are generic like in Sony cameras and the craftmanship... ? Sure the sketches look fine ( in terms of finishing ) but the mock ups at Photokina looks bits of hood and carbon fiber that have the finishing finesse of... erm... edges are not polished, things do not look properly assembled, fit and finish are dreadfull.

If you want to launch a 5k camera and emphasize on the quality of the materials and show off a mockup that looks like molded clay.. oh boy..

I pick up a XPAN and I can almost feel its quality build. Even on a 20 year 500C old camera I can still see the fit and finishing are impeccable.

I really dont see that happening with a Nex7

Huge huge dissapointment for me. Kudos Leica for the M - they listened to their users and delivered what pretty much everyone wanted.

Mammy645