The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

State of the industry and how to survive.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Well I think this is a topic that has many merits. I don't want to get into the politics but let's face facts . The industry of photography is taking a hit and it is becoming more far reaching everyday. How do we stay alive and how does the industry survive it. Sure time will heal all wounds or will it. Big question marks out there and what can we do to survive. I have been doing this for 35 years and it is just getting worse and worse and some days you wonder what the hell you are doing in it. How do we get new clients, how does manufacturers stay alive and bring product in at better costs. How does the labs stay in business. What can we do to keep putting food on our tables. Let's explore the answers or try to.

Lars

There are two sides to surviving in a profession - keeping revenues up and keeping costs down. Photography never was a high-income job (perhaps with a few rare exceptions), anyone who has invested in MFDB equipment costing more than a year's salary in most Western countries is vulnerable on the revenue side. With the coming recession, price levels on photography work are bound to drop like a rock. A Hassy used to cost $2500, not anymore if you want to shoot MF digital. It's just too large of an investment, sure you can make a budget that allows for a $25K annual writeoff of a MF setup, but it will be a high-risk venture for a freelance photographer running his/her own business.