The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

advise on model

jonboring

Hi Folks

I am trying to help a model ... single mom age 27. She wants to get into modeling and asked me to shoot her. She's entering the Hooter's Calendar contest and needed some photo's. I'm a landscape photographer but I gave it a try.

Can you guys / gals who shoot models professionally take a look at this pic (next message) and tell me what you think about the model? I know the pic stinks so save your breath on that. I am looking for some advise to give this very nice young lady about her prospects of getting into modeling, what type of modeling she might be best suited for and any other advise / comments you care to share.

This is a completely raw untouched image. Shot with 5Dii and L70-200. I'd be happy to send a link to the raw file if you need that.

Graham Mitchell

It's hard to judge based on one photo, but to be honest I don't see her as standing out from thousands of quite pretty women, and there are certainly more beautiful, more photogenic and younger models who will be beating her to the more glamorous and better paid jobs. She could get work as a 'people model', as some call it. In other words, being a mum in catalogue shots etc. I think that's her best bet.

johnastovall

Deceased, but remembered fondly here...
Her hands look out of place and old. She needs to look at least makeup on them as well as just her face or some photoshop work.

They really jump on in the third shot.

LJL

Who is looking at her hands ? ! ?