Site Sponsors

Thread: My first digital camera

frenchspur

Question My first digital camera

Hi all,
    Last week I bought my first digital camera,a G1.On the same shopping trip I bought 20 rolls of film for my Leica R8s and Contax G2s,so I'm not a novice photographer.So this world is new to me.My 3 questions are is it worth shooting in Raw? is 4-3 better than 3-2? Finally,I have 3 Leica lenses-50/2,90/2.8 and 35-70:f4,is it a good idea to but an adaptor for the G1?
    Ta
    DM

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: My first digital camera

Hello and welcome to the forum

Yes, I think it is certainly worth shooting the G1 in raw - which raw converter do you use at the moment?

Personally, I'd buy the 20mm f1.7 before a converter for your leica lenses... it's only recently become available, but offers fantastic performance as a native m4/3rds lens.

There should be advice coming soon from forum members who use Leica lenses with their G1.

Kind Regards

Brian

frenchspur

Cheers Brian.
    Well I'm only using the software that came with the camera.Yes,I thought of that 20mm lens.I believe it has a 46mm filter thread,of which I have plenty.
    I have started using a Nikon polarising filter,is this worthwhile with digital?
    I must say I'm impressed with the G1!
    Ta
    DM

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Hi and welcome.
    I've used M lenses on my G1 but don't own any R lenses. Not sure how heavy they will feel in relation to the body. I know on the heaviest of the Olympus 4/3 lenses people are a little bit wary of the weight of the lens putting stress on the lens mount. I'm not sure of the size/weight of the lenses you list.

Like Brian said, I agree that you are better off shooting RAW but before giving advice again like Brian asks, what are you using now and what is the digital part of your workflow with your film scans?

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

hi there and welcome to what is most likely the friendliest forum around.